Financial Assistance for Professional Maritime Training

$500 Scholarships for Commercial Fishermen and their Families

Scholarship Fund Eligibility

Commercial Fishermen (majority of income is from commercial fishing, includes shell fishermen) who are at least 18 years old, and who reside in, or fish from boats homeported in any of the New England or Mid-Atlantic states (Maine to North Carolina) are eligible to apply for a Ted Williams Memorial Scholarship. This scholarship is for funding to attend courses that support professional maritime and safety skill training. Also eligible are family members of the above Commercial Fishermen who are pursuing commercial fishing or maritime careers. Awards, not to exceed $500, are limited to one per person per year and are paid directly to the course provider.

Scholarship Application

Selection of Professional Maritime Training Facilities 

STATE FACILITIES WEBSITE
MA New England Maritime https://www.nemaritime.com
MA Northeast Maritime Institute https://www.northeastmaritime.com
ME Downeast Maritime https://www.downeastmaritime.com
VA Downeast Maritime https://www.downeastmaritime.com
NY The Nautical School https://www.nauticalschool.com
ME Atlantic Captains Academy http://www.atlanticcaptainsacademy.com
MA Massachusetts Maritime Academy  Center for Maritime and Professional Training https://www.maritime.edu/professional-training
WA MITAGS https://www.mitags.org
MD MITAGS East https://www.mitags.org
RI Narragansett Bay Maritime Training http://nbmtri.com
VA Mid Atlantic Maritime Academy https://mamatrains.com/
VA Chesapeake Marine Training Institute https://www.chesapeakemarineinst.com
NC 3B’s Captains School https://www.captainsschool.com
NY Captains School of Long Island, Inc http://www.captainschoolli.com
RI Confident Captain https://confidentcaptain.com
NY Sea School/Staten Island Yacht Sales https://seaschool.com/courses
NC World Wide Marine Training, LLC https://www.worldwidemarinetraining.com/
NJ Captains License Class https://captainslicenseclass.com
VA National Seafares Academy https://www.seafarers.org/
ME Center for Professional Development https://mainemaritime.edu/continuing-education  
AK AMSEA https://www.amsea.org

About the Ted Williams Memorial Scholarship Fund 

Ted Williams Fund

Ted’s Legacy of Safety

Established in 2020 by Hercules SLR and Fishing Partnership Support Services to honor the life and legacy of lead Safety Instructor Edward “Ted” Williams, the Ted Williams Memorial Scholarship Fund provides financial assistance to commercial fishermen to take advanced maritime training classes that improve their safety and professional skills. Through his career, Ted taught thousands of commercial fishermen, who deeply respected his style of imparting life-saving knowledge and skills with a wry sense of humor. His instruction reached thousands of commercial fishermen from Maine to New Jersey over 15 years. The Ted Williams Memorial Scholarship Fund honors Ted’s legacy for safety at sea.

Apply for a Scholarship

Allow 3 Weeks for Processing 

Request Services

Are you or your spouse a fisherman? Do you come from a fishing family? Or, are you a shoreline worker that lives in a coastal community [that’s anyone that has a job that supports fishermen getting their product to market and includes boat mechanics, fish cutters and lumpers to name a few]? We’re here to help. Complete the Request for Services form and we’ll answer your call.

Become a Friend

Show your support for fishermen, their families and coastal shoreline workers. Sign up as a Friend of Fishing Partnership and you’ll receive news on local fisheries and learn what it takes to bring fresh seafood, sustainably caught, from the most highly regulated wild fisheries in the world to your dinner table. Learn what you can do to support fishing communities near you.